Stages of Chronic Kidney Diseases

Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) occurs over a period of time, progressing in stages from normal kidney function to complete kidney failure.  Unfortunately, CKD is oftentimes unnoticed until kidney damage has already been done, and no cure has yet been found.  However, with treatment, symptoms can be controlled.  The five stages of Chronic Kidney Disease are listed below.

Stage 1: Kidney function is normal, but something, such as abnormal urine findings, or genetics has indicated kidney disease.
Stage 2: Kidney function is mildly reduced.
Stage 3: Kidney function is moderately reduced.
Stage 4: Kidney function is severely reduced.
Stage 5: Kidney has entered end stage kidney failure.